Guest Blog: Ann Aguirre, author of Blue Diablo

aguirre_blue-diablo1Last year I took a trip to Catemaco for research. Located in the state of Veracruz, Catemaco was largely cut off until the early 20th century. The first train arrived there in 1912. The first paved roads didn’t reach this area until the 1950s, Consequently, the area’s populace had to get good at healing, using the plentiful herbs in the surrounding jungle. Since then, Catemaco has become famous for its magic and mysticism. The town is full of witches (brujos), healers (curanderos), gypsy fortunetellers (hungaros), and other lesser known types chamanes, culebreros, yerberos.

It was to this place that I traveled last year to research an authentic experience for my heroine. I met a witch. I had a cleansing. So now, enjoy the video and feel free to ask me what you’re seeing. (I included a photo of me climbing the path to the witch’s hut.)

http://widgets.clearspring.com/o/47b132e07b3c9036/49d2ffa34936e13c/47b132e05b7229a5/dedf4aed/-cpid/d879f480f42fc6d6

A random commenter will win a copy of Blue Diablo.

22 comments on “Guest Blog: Ann Aguirre, author of Blue Diablo

  1. What do you suppose accounts for our fascination with witchcraft? That video was stunning by the way, the music, the pictures – it looks like an interesting place.
    Margay

  2. Cool video. I’m surprised at how lush and tropical it is. My minimal experience with Mexico is with the Tijuana and Rosarito areas. I tend to forget that there is so much more to Mexico than the tourist cities and beaches.

    Looking forward to reading BLUE DIABLO.

  3. These are the most amazing pictures! The colors were fantastic, so vivid in the use of colors for their buildings. The crane was fabulous too. I loved it.

    Blue Diablo looks great as well, I’ve heard nothing but good things about on the review site. I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Dottie

  4. I remember reading a news article about this place. So nice to see a non-Western mythos get the spotlight in urban fantasy. Here’s hoping it becomes a trend.

  5. Hello, all!

    Ann is on the road today and thus unable to drop in to answer direct questions or comments.

    Good luck on the drawing!

  6. this book sounds better and better and your right the more you learn about it the more u want to read or go to where its based from beautiful pictures and i adore the cover

  7. I bet you got a lot of inspiration from your visit. The pictures were gorgeous, definitely made me want to book a trip! I like your choice in music as well.

    P.S. I’ve read nothing but great things about your book Ann, congrats!

  8. How intriguing. The first photos of the buildings and the setting looked quiet touristy. Then the climb into the hills and the monkeys reminded us how close yet disant two worlds can be. I look forward to reading the book and learning some more.

  9. Well, that’s a bummer, I opened the link and after 20 min it was still a white screen. But from the other comments here it sounds really beautiful. I will try to open it again later when I’m not in the middle of a thunderstorm, you never know that could be the problem…..

  10. Wow! I’ve been to Mexico when I was in high school, three summers in a row. Never saw anyplace as lovely or as wild as this. What a great visit this must have been.

Comments are closed.