Has all Urban Fantasy become the same?

Stacia Kane has written an excellent article on sameness in the UF genre on her blog.  Go forth and be schooled.

“So, lately I’ve been seeing a lot of posts and comments and discussions online relating to the idea that ALL urban fantasy has become samey and dull. That it’s all circling the were-vamp drain, full of designer labels, with the same worlds and characters and plot devices.”

8 comments on “Has all Urban Fantasy become the same?

  1. Thanks for the link to that! Having just finished Mark del Franco’s latest Connor Grey novel, I was just wondering why the heck his stuff isn’t talked up more…

  2. I don’t think all is the same but I am really, really, really, really getting tired of seeing book covers with lovely drawn woman with tattoos. Sigh! Boring!

  3. You know, it is all samish. I sometimes feel like they have all these different plot lines, characters and themes and put them in hats than pulled them out at random. Reminds me of when I have 7 barbies, two kens and one dream house… But I still played with them and I will keep reading until the variations run dry

  4. It’s a really interesting point and great to read for a few more recommendations. I think I must be a good book detective with too much time on my hands though as have managed to read lots in the last few months that hasn’t been too samey.

Comments are closed.