2009 Preview: In Their Own Words

Urban Fantasy Land has the scoop. Here’s what some of your favourite authors have coming out in 2009– and in their own words.

frost_gravesendJeaniene Frost: Well, my third book in the Night Huntress series, AT GRAVE’S END, comes out December 30th, so that’s *almost* 2009. Then AN EARLY GRAVE, book four in the series, comes out July 28th, 2009. I also have three short stories in anthologies coming out in 2009: Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance April 13th, Four Dukes and a Devil June 30th, and Unbound, August 25th. So, a busy release year for me!

Okay, I normally hate spoilers, but I’ll give a small spoiler/teaser for AT GRAVE”S END:

Out of the regular cast of characters readers met in Halfway to the Grave and/or One Foot in the Grave, two previously-human people will turn into vampires. A third person will die the permanent, never-coming-back way. And no, I’m not saying who’s who. You’ll have to read to find out ;-).

henry_roadtrip2Mark Henry: Road Trip of the Living Dead will start hitting the shelves on February 24th, so prepare for some more zombie nastiness.

.

.

Faith Hunter: Rapid Descent (thriller set in the paddling world) Feb. 09, by my AKA Gwen Hunter
Skinwalker (urban fantasy) July 09 by Faith Hunter
A SS in Magic Brew in July 09

.

kaneStacia Kane: DEMON INSIDE, the sequel to PERSONAL DEMONS, was supposed to be out in January but that’s not happening now. I can’t discuss the reasons why but I can assure everyone the book will be out in 2009, and the delay has nothing to do with the book itself; it’s ready to go, and there’s nothing to worry about. I will of course keep everyone posted through my blog and reader loop, and I’ll make sure UFL has the info too!

I’m also very excited about my new series, the Chess Putnam books. I don’t yet have a release date for those but I know Del Rey is planning to do back-to-back releases, so it’s entirely possible we’ll have two or even all three of them out before the end of 2009. The series starts with UNHOLY GHOSTS, and I just cannot wait to see everyone’s reactions to the characters, the world, and the story. I’m really proud of it.

lewis1J.F. Lewis: ReVamped comes out March 10th from Pocket Books. It’s book two in the Void City Series and involves a soul-stealing demon that has a soul Eric wants back very badly (*cough* Marilyn’s *cough*). Folks who read the first book will be pleased to see lots more Talbot (Eric’s mysterious mouser) as well as some “Scary Greta” moments. There will be a new character or two that I think folks will enjoy.

The mass-market version of Staked (the first Void City Series book) is due out in June, complete with great new cover art.

I’ve also got two short stories that will hopefully find a home over the next year. One of them is a humorous sci-fi tale that addresses the deplorable lack of short stories in which nine year old girls from South Korea save the world. The other is set in the Void City universe and involves a newly turned vampire standing outside a Godiva store. It was inspired by the discussion over at the League of Reluctant Adults a few months back about which food people would miss the most if they couldn’t eat. Obviously, chocolate was the winner.

pettersson_touchVicki Pettersson: I have two releases that I’m excited about in ’09. July will see the release of the fourth book in my ‘Signs of the Zodiac’ series: CITY OF SOULS. It’s a bit of a departure from the first three in that it has a bigger look (I just saw the cover and it’s amazing) and a bigger feel as my protagonist, Joanna, had to go places she (and we) never knew existed. It was a bear to write because I had to worldbuild as if it were the first of the series, but I think I’ve come up with something unique that my readers will enjoy.

Then August will see a Zodiac-related story, Dark Matters, in the UNBOUND anthology, along with Kim Harrison, Melissa Marr, Jeaniene Frost and Jocelynn Drake. Being a part of this anthology was like having someone witness a dream of mine and then bringing it to life. I have serious literary crushes on all these writers, and I can’t wait to see this book on the shelves!

rowen_stakesstilettosMichelle Rowen: I have a bunch out in ’09! It’s going to be a great year!! The fourth book in my Immortality Bites vampire series, STAKES & STILETTOS, is out in April. The fifth and final to wrap up the series, TALL, DARK & FANGSOME follows in September. My first young adult fantasy novel in a new series, DEMON PRINCESS: REIGN OR SHINE is out in October. And I have a short vampire store in THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF PARANORMAL ROMANCE in April. It’s possible that my Harlequin Blaze, HOT SPELL, which is also a paranormal, will be out in late ’09, but I haven’t gotten a definite release date on that one yet!

steifvater_lamentMaggie Stiefvater: SHIVER (Scholastic), about a girl who falls in love with a boy who must become a wolf each winter, and BALLAD (Flux), the sequel to LAMENT, where an obscenely talented bagpiping teen must choose between saving a snarky and dangerous vampiric faerie muse or his best friend and long-term crush.

Anton Strout: Deader Still, book two in the Simon Canderous urban fantasy series, is due out on 2/24/09 and I have a possibly related tie-in story to it in the August anthology City Fantastic.  Most of the next year is dedicated to books three and four in the main series, each of which I suspect will be coming out in late February 2010 and 2011.

5 comments on “2009 Preview: In Their Own Words

  1. Ooh, this is all very exciting. You can’t believe how happy I was to be in the store on Jan 2 and seeing AT GRAVE’S END. I thought it wasn’t out until the spring – that ended up in my purchase pile that day.

    Waiting anxiously for Stacia Kane’s next book as well. I am curious to know what her news is. 😉

    And huzzah about the UNBOUND anthology – all my fave authors in one place. Woohoo!

  2. except this one, i have
    Mark Henry: Road Trip of the Living Dead
    mark rocks too! im just getting into the first, happy hour of the damned

Comments are closed.