Happy Holidays from Rachel Caine!

In this Urban Fantasy Land exclusive, we’re bringing you the holiday traditions of some of your favourite urban fantasy authors! Today’s guest:  Rachel Caine author of the Weather Warden series, Morganville Vampires series and the soon to be released Outcast series.
rachelWhat winter holiday do you celebrate?

Which one comes with presents?  And mulled wine?  That one.

What are your favourite winter holiday traditions?

I enjoy putting up our tree!  We have a family tradition of buying at least one new ornament per year to add … this year, we’ve already bought six, I think.  We now have more ornaments than tree.  We will probably address this by putting up another tree.

What are you looking forward to most?

I would say “time off,” but ha.  How about “writing time”!  And the aforementioned presents, mulled wine, and being with my family and friends.  Also, baking.  Baking is good.  Me like baking.

What’s your favourite gift to give?

Silly, goofy gifts.  One of my favorites of the past several years was a screaming monkey toy you fire from a slingshot and unsuspecting passersby.

What’s your favourite gift to receive?

Screaming monkey toys.  Also, of course, BOOKS.

What’s your favourite holiday food/candy/treat?

My ultimate favorite is probably pecan pie, but red velvet cake runs a close second.

What books/stories do you have coming out in 2009?

Eeek.  Okay, here we go:

January 6 – LORD OF MISRULE, the 5th Morganville Vampires novel
February 3 – UNDONE, the 1st book of my new Outcast Season series
July – CARPE CORPUS, the 6th Morganville Vampires novel
August – CAPE STORM, the 8th Weather Warden novel
October (?) – A short story in the anthology STRANGE BREW, edited by P.N. Elrod
November – the 7th Morganville Vampires novel, as yet untitled
Also, sometime in 2009, I will have a Weather Warden story in the Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance, and a Morganville story in another collection as yet untitled.

To quote the immortal Joss Whedon:  “Fire bad.  Tree pretty.”  And I hope your trees are all very, very pretty this holiday season.

galeforce_smfeastoffools_smundone

Pre-Order Lord of Misrule and Undone
2 comments on “Happy Holidays from Rachel Caine!

  1. I hope that you had a wonderful holiday!!

    Wow, you have some amazing stuff coming out next year…I am adding them to my list of must buys!

    Happy Holidays!!

  2. I happened upon the first four books of your Weather Warden Series in the library and read them in a week. I don’t know if I can wait for the interlibrary loan to bring me the next one. Thanks for some very good books and some very good hours spent reading them.

Comments are closed.