Happy Holidays from Maggie Stiefvater!

In this Urban Fantasy Land exclusive, we’re bringing you the holiday traditions of some of your favourite urban fantasy authors! Today’s guest: Maggie Stiefvater, author of Lament:  The Faerie Queen’s Deception.

n629761764_1099706_20191

What winter holiday do you celebrate?
Christmas, with all of its indulgent traditions.

What are your favourite winter holiday traditions?

I love breaking out the medieval Christmas music on December 1st, and buying one new ornament every year. Usually something bizarre. I think it was a penguin in socks last year.

What are you looking forward to most?

I have to admit an unhealthy attraction to stockings. I still love the little crazy gifts that get stuck in them the best of all.

What’s your favourite gift to give?

Piles and piles of books. Or, alternatively, piles and piles of music.

What’s your favourite gift to receive?

Piles and piles of books. Or, alternatively, piles and piles of music.

n629761764_1099718_9974

What’s your favourite holiday food/candy/treat?

Stuffing. The most aptly named food in the universe (except for when it’s called dressing, in which case applying it literally sounds sort of messy).

Holiday message to everyone:

Be nice to people, for crying out loud. And give to those Salvation Army people who are freezing their butts off for nothing.

Order Lament:  The Faerie Queen’s Deception

Visit Maggie Stiefvater’s Website

Visit Maggie Stiefvater’s Blog

5 comments on “Happy Holidays from Maggie Stiefvater!

  1. Great post Maggie. 🙂 I like to find a new ornament each year too. Though in my case I’m building a collection for when I eventually leave my mother’s house (& at 24 I’m starting to wonder if that will ever happen). In my case though, my big collectible item of the season is Nutcrackers. With the ones I’ve received already this year I’m up to 33 Nutcrackers. 🙂

  2. Ooh. I love stories about the fae, and have been reading a lot of YA lately. I look forward to checking out Lament!

    Also, I just wanted the great people at UFL to know that I’ve awarded them a Kreativ Blogger award for Best UF resouce blog. Congrats! Email to follow.

  3. i am absoulutly in love with lament. i read all the twilight books and said ” these are the best books in the world!” then i read lament and twilight is 2nd on my page!! thank you so much for writing lament maggie !!!!!! it is the best book i have ever read!
    -caitlin diers

  4. so maggie? is ballad the next book to lament. like does it have the smae characters and stuff?? casue i love your books! email me!

Comments are closed.