The Weird: Zombies, Undergarments, and more

[My internet has been hinky this week. The under-water cable that crosses a lake to provide us with cable TV & internet was dredged up by an anchor and then shredded by a propeller. I must congratulate my cable provider for getting it repaired in under 30 hours. However, I am told there will be more maintenance this week, so the issues are not completely resolved, and my posting will become more scattered until things are more stable. I do have a number of things I’m working on behind the scenes, so stay tuned.]

SciFi Wire reports Stephenie Meyer’s Breaking Dawn sold more than 1.3 million copies in the first 24 hours after it’s release midnight on 2 Aug . But will it continue to show such success? A number of fans and reviewers have reported being unhappy with the book. I wonder what’s in store for the future of the franchise. Perhaps Meyer will have to leak plot details of the next book, instead of keeping it so tightly guarded as she did with Breaking Dawn. [YA]

See Neil Gaiman’s Sandman as it would appear if drawn by Charles Schultz. What a wild concept.

Richelle Mead tells us which came first: the chicken or the… Oh, sorry. Which came first: Storm Born or Vampire Academy. She also gives us the low down on the development of Storm Born, and I have to say I’m liking the sound of this one.

From the Weird Things Department: Policewomen in Germany will be issued what’s being called “bullet-proof bras”. Now there’s something I’ve not seen yet in urban fantasy, though I don’t imagine it will take long for the idea to catch on.

If zombies rose from their graves tomorrow, would you survive? Take a 52-question quiz and find out. The quiz took about 10 minutes, and it has some pretty intelligent questions. My overall survival rate was pretty good, though I apparently need to brush up in the experience department.

Author Mark Henry is running a contest until noon on Friday. “Just leave a glowing comment about how excited you are that these ladies spend their time hammering away their fingers to nubs. Blood runs red on the keys people. It ain’t all rainbows and moonbeams (like I’m telling you something you don’t know.)”

2 comments on “The Weird: Zombies, Undergarments, and more

  1. Twilighters everywhere are rabid with disgust concerning Breaking Dawn because not only was it bad… it’s supposed to be the last book in the series.

Comments are closed.