Catching up with Conestoga

Jaye Wells:
So far the convention is all about olives, bats and chicken sex. Good times.

Rachel Caine:
Wow, guys, Conestoga was fun! The [info]fangs_fur_fey mini-con was rockin’, and I saw several of you from LJ, and lo, you were all amazingly fun people.

Rachel Vincent:
And I’ve never seen so many urban fantasy authors gathered in one place. It was like being in a room full of friends I hardly ever see, and I spent the entire convention with this huge, goofy smile on my face. So if you saw me grinning like a fool, that was the I-can’t-believe-I’m-really-here smile.

Melissa Marr:
Oddly (or not?) the topic of what we read when we were our younger readers’ ages came up at Conestoga. It’s a topic that leaves me befuddled. At the time I was the age of the very youngest of my readers (say 6th thru 8th grade), I read King’s horror, the aforementioned books, Sweet Valley High, Shakespeare, folk & fairy tales, Piers Anthony, Lewis Carroll, non-fiction (on sharks & snakes esp), and whatever else I could get from the library, used book store, Gramma’s book room, my uncle’s left-overs (he taught Victorian literature at university), or friends. It was like asking me what I want to eat when I’m reaaaally hungry. I want food. With books, it was that I wanted words/story.

Caitlin Kittredge:
A little more on Conestoga: the Fangs, Fur & Fey track was amazing, I had a wonderful time seeing so many of my fellow authors in person and meeting so many for the first time. I’m consistently amazed at how gracious, welcoming and warm the urban fantasy community is.

Ilona Andrews:
FFF’s first panel took place in a room designed to hold 35 people. As we walked in, there was no space. Let me reiterate: every chair was occupied and there was no space along the wall. Elspeth, the con organizer, who was the most capable person I’ve ever met at such an event, immediately produced more chairs, which bumped the seating capacity to 45 and people were still standing.

Jeri Smith-Ready:
All I can say is that it was fabulous, one of my all-time favorite convention/conference experiences. I had a chance to talk at length with a lot of people I’d only met briefly at more hectic conferences like RT, or had met only online. The convention was tons of fun, without leaving me feeling like I’d been hit by a cement truck.

And don’t miss Mark Henry’s hilarious account of the first two days with pictures:
My first panel was at 2:00. So after a quick trip to Sonic, I settled in behind the panel table (have I mentioned I hate separations like tables? Can’t stand ’em. Think they impair fluent conversations. What can you do?). The panel was called Urban Fantasy: It’s Not Just for Chicks. Seriously? I thought it was referring to readers. When Mark Del Franco, who moderated, said that it was about male protagonists, I swear my gulp was audible.

3 comments on “Catching up with Conestoga

  1. Good God, y’all! Did you sum up a boat load of stuff or what?! That’s two events I wished I’d have attended. Oh well, at least i can live vicariously through your posts.

  2. Thanks! I wish I could have gone, too!

    Since reports of Comic Con and Conestoga are still trickling out, I’ll be updating these posts.

    Just in time to track all the fun at RWA.

    Is it possible for a brain to explode? I think mine’s close.

  3. Pingback: Conestoga | Literary Escapism

Comments are closed.