Thursday Tidbits

Fantasy Magazine interviews Chris Howard, author of Seaborn.  Take a peek:

Where do you get your ideas?

Dreaming and traveling; and I couldn’t write without my journal to record ideas. I’d forget it all if I didn’t write every idea down and sort out the good ideas from the crappy ones later. I do more plotting at four in the morning, half awake, with a scene and characters tumbling around my head. But I have to get up, sort it out and write it down, or I’ll lose it.

Fangs, Fur, & Fey interviews Yasmine Galenorn.  Here’s a taste:

Rachel: Why do you write urban fantasy/paranormal romance? What drew you to the genre?

Yasmine: I knew I wanted to be a writer from the time I was three and have been making up odd little stories from the day I could string sentences together. I learned to read early and my loves ran to volcanoes, dinosaurs, and…would you believe it? Yes, fantasy and science fiction. The Space Cat series by Ruthven Todd was one of my first discoveries in that genre-I just loved that adventuresome astronaut cat. And thanks to a non-restrictive policy allowing children to check out books from any section of the library and an extremely advanced reading capability, I sped through the fantasy and science fiction section at an early age. I ploughed through Asimov, Clarke, Pohl, and my favorite to this day-Ray Bradbury. I cut my teeth on The City and the Stars, I fell in love with Something Wicked This Way Comes and The October Country. By the time I was ten I knew that I didn’t care all that much for Heinlein, but I was nuts over Clifford D. Simak.

J.F. Lewis, author of Staked, is guest blogging over at Patricia’s Vampire Notes on July 17th.

Vampires are the genre for July over at Genre of the Month blog.

From Dear Author:  Fictionwise’s eReader Available as an iPhone App for the New Iphones

