[REVIEW] Feast of Fools by Rachel Caine


Rachel Caine

Series: Morganville Vampires, Book 4 (Young Adult)

NAL Jam (Penguin Books) [June 3, 2008]

Claire Danvers is a 17 year-old college student who lives and goes to school in Morganville, a small town where vampires and humans coexist. Feast of Fools opens with a group of vampires invading the Glass House where Claire lives with her boyfriend Shane, her friend Eve and Eve’s newly turned vampire boyfriend Michael.

Among this group of new vampires is Mr. Bishop, who is Amelie’s father. Amelie is Claire’s sponsor and the Founder of Morganville. Just the mere mention of Bishop’s name sets all of the other vampires in town on edge. Shortly after his arrival, invitations for a masked ball are delivered and it would seem almost everyone in Morganville except Claire was invited, including her boyfriend Shane.

Claire is also an apprentice to a vampire named Myrnin who is one of a group of vampires that are kept in cells because they are for all intents and purposes insane. She is helping out with drug research to correct the problem with these vamps. The effects of the current drug are temporary and once it wears off, the insanity returns. But it would seem since everyone she cares about is already going to the ball that Myrnin is the only one left to help her save her friends from Mr. Bishop. But is he someone she can rely on?

Even though I haven’t read the previous three installments of the Morganville Vampire series, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it can be read as a stand alone. Ms. Caine provides enough back-story and information that you understand the how the story reached its current place and the relationships of the characters without being pulled out of the current story with info-dump.

RATING A- The characters are all well-drawn and believable. The plot is fast paced with twists and turns you do not expect that should keep young adults and adults alike entertained. I liked this book well enough that I am going to look into picking up the previous three installments and would definitely read it again.

Feast of Fools is available now. The next installment in the Morganville Vampire series, Lord of Misrule, will be released January 6, 2009.

Ms. Caine’s Myspace

Ms. Caine’s Website


3 comments on “[REVIEW] Feast of Fools by Rachel Caine

  1. I went through this series so fast I couldn’t put the books down. I am looking forward to Lord of Misrule very much!

  2. Pingback: Speaking of vampires « The YA YA YAs

Comments are closed.