Summer Reading Lists

From Lindsay:
Ah, summer. Warm, lazy days lying in the hammock reading a book while the kids run around trying to slay each other with sticks, the grass needs mowing and the dishes pile-up in the sink… This summer we won’t be traveling, so my reading will be all about escaping the realities of my kids being home for two months. Here’s a list of what I recommend blended with what’s in my reading pile:

Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr
Weddings from Hell – anthology – stories by Jeaniene Frost, Maggie Shayne, Terri Garey, Kathryn Smith
Hotter than Hell – anthology – Kim Harrison, et al
The Touch of Twilight by Vicki Pettersson
Dead to Me by Anton Strout
One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
The Turning by Jennifer Armintrout
The Outlaw Demon Wails by Kim Harrison
Happy Hour of the Damned by Mark Henry

From Lisa:
I have a love/hate relationship with summer. I hate the heat but love the trappings that are only present during the summer months. Some of my favorite summer markers are: seven Summer Fridays off from work; fireworks; occasional trips to the cottage for lazy, long weekends by Lake Huron; lemonade; the smells from outdoor cookouts and barbeques with friends and riding bikes. The following are some titles I believe would make great summer reading escapes:

One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
Personal Demons by Stacia Kane
The Outlaw Demon Wails by Kim Harrison
Romancing the Dead by Tate Hallaway
Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews
Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr
The Iron Hunt by Marjorie Liu
Succubus on Top by Richelle Mead
Small Favor by Jim Butcher
From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris

Coming up on Monday, find out what books will be released this summer.

Do you have a summer reading list? What books are you looking forward to?

5 comments on “Summer Reading Lists

  1. Oy! From which pile to choose from. Well…
    Night Life by Caitlin Kittredge (just started)
    Dark Lover by J.R. Ward
    Accidental Werewolf by Dakota Cassidy
    Greywalker by Kat Richardson

    I’m a slow reader so this will fill my summer easily!

  2. Hi!!
    I’ve condensed this a bit…but I always look forward to most of the books on my list and by my favorite authors….Here goes ….
    Blood Noir – Laurell K. Hamilton
    Small favor – Jim Butcher
    Frostbite – Richelle Mead
    Provenance – Alex Archer
    Personal Demon – Kelly Armstrong
    Romancing the Dead – Tate Halloway
    Feast of Fools – rachel Caine
    Last Oracle – James Rollins
    The Aztec heresay – Paul Christopher
    Dragon Wytch – Yasmine Galenorn
    Little Tiny Teeth – Aaron Elkins
    Uneasy Relations – Aaron Elkins
    Laughter of Dead Kings – Elizabeth Peters
    Night Child – Jes Battis
    From Dead to Worse – Charlaine Harris

    I’m also trying to write my own book so I’m also trying to work on balancing my time.
    Have an awesome summer!

  3. Can I say that I’ve already read One Foot in the Grave, The Outlaw Demon Wails, Magic Burns, The Touch of Twilight and Happy Hour of the Damned, oh and French Pressed by Cleo Coyle.

  4. Too many to count! I am super excited for Patricia Brigg’s Cry Wolf, out in August. That’s the high point of my summer. Other than that, The Iron Hunt, catching up on Keri Arthur’s Riley Jensen series, hunting down Patricia Briggs’ backlist, Acheron, Jessica Andersen’s paranormal debut, Yasmine Galnorn’s books, Larissa Ione’s Pleasure Unbound (which I won recently), Jeri Smith-Ready’s Wicked Game, Christine Warrens The Others series, Witch Fire by Anya Bast….
    Really I have no hope of catching up. Ever. But I’m counting down the days until Cry Wolf. And the next Psy/Changelings book by Nalini Singh comes out in September.

Comments are closed.