Favorite Elements in UF – Part Deux: What Are Our Favorite Critters and Why Do We Love Them So?

According to the poll results listed below the cut, you all really, really liked the following:  Kick Butt Heroines, Detectives/Investigators, The Quiet Types, Troubled Loners, Shapeshifters, Vamps, Faeries, Natural/Inherent Magic, Witchcraft/Magecraft and Mindreading/Telepathy.  I guess it just isn’t time yet for Undead Unicorns.  *looks nervously at current WIP*

Now, it is time to tell us why.  What makes these characters, traits and abilities irresistible to you?  Are these characteristics that will make you choose one book over another or put it on your “To Buy” list automatically?  Do they turn you away from some books?  Authors – what is the basis for the choices in your own writing?

Come on, tell us.  You know you want to.

Poll Results:

Who are your favorite heroes/heroines?

Kick Butt Take No Prisoners heroines [39]
Dominant No Female Can Resist Me Alpha Males [7]
Detectives/Investigators [17]
The Quiet Yet Resourceful Type [21]
The Troubled Loner [17]
The Magic User [10]
Ordinary Human [7]

Total votes: 120

What are your favorite groups or creatures in Urban Fantasy?

Vampires [19]
Shapeshifters [37]
Faeries/Elves [17]
Zombies [3]
Ghosts/Spirits [3]
Superheroes [2]
Demons [8]
Undead Unicorns [3]

Total votes: 92

Favorite Powers

Natural/Inherent Magic [39]
Witchcraft/Magecraft [18]
Glamour/Persuasion [4]
Psychometry [1]
Mindreading/Telepathy [10]
Teleportation [2]
Necromancy/Reanimation [6]
Inducing Fear (3)

Total votes: 83

2 comments on “Favorite Elements in UF – Part Deux: What Are Our Favorite Critters and Why Do We Love Them So?

  1. Hi! I’ve been waiting for you to post this!

    I am a detective, faery,and natural magic lover. But, I will read any book that contains an aspect of the above mentioned.

    This is why I love Urban Fantasy. It isn’t set in stone. Each author presents a new world/character/etc. and you’re taken away to another place.

    I always look forward to the thrill and excitement because 1). it’s nice to get away from our day to day shit and 2).(don’t laugh)I believe in a lot of this.

  2. There’s so much to cover that I fear hi-jacking the post. So, I’ll focus on one aspect.

    Shifters for me are a great draw. I often dream about shedding my skin of the trials that bog me down and running free like a wolf. It exilerates me and at the same time leaves me jealous. There’s a fear o fthe savagry that accompanies shifters but reading about characters taming their wild beasts reminds us of our own inner struggles. Ya, they be fun!

Comments are closed.