Spotlight on Jeaniene Frost – Saturday Seven Interview & a Contest!

**THE CONTEST IS CLOSED**

Meet Jeaniene Frost! Jeaniene answers some questions in a Saturday Seven interview about her Night Huntress Series, on writing, vampires and more. We’re also having a contest!

UFL: For those that aren’t familiar with your books (because they are languishing in Outer Mongolia or under a rock) could you tell us a little bit about the Night Huntress series?

My series is about half-vampire Cat Crawfield, a vampire slayer with an attitude who teams up with a Master vampire named Bones to stop a bigger evil. Cat has to navigate a world filled with ghouls, vampires, ghosts, meddling mothers, murderous fathers, and a government organization that won’t take no for an answer. The series is dark, humorous, and sexy, depending on what situation Cat’s gotten herself into.

UFL: The character of Bones in one word equals: yummy! How did he come to life? Is he an amalgam of different influences or was he a fully formed character from the get go?

Bones came to me in a dream. I knew he was English, a vampire, and a hitman (but one who only kills the evil members of human and undead society). The rest developed from asking myself how he had gotten to be those things :).

UFL: I love the anecdote in your bio where the 5 yr old Jeaniene explains in church that a cross is what keeps vampires away. What is it about vampires that drew you to write about them over other creatures and what are your own personal spins on the age-old mythos?

I can’t say what drew me to vampires, since I’ve loved them since forever, so I don’t remember what initially drew me to them. When I set about to write vampires, I took everything that had ever annoyed me about their myth and changed it (if only I could change annoying things in real life as easily). My vampires have no aversion to crosses, sunlight, running water, or wooden stakes. They do stay frozen in appearance at whatever age they were changed over, they can live indefinitely, and they need blood to survive, but those were about the only “traditional” things I brought over when I created my brand of vampires. Oh, and they’re not soulless or inherently evil. My vampires, like humans, have a choice whether to be good or bad, so there are both vampire heroes and villains in the Night Huntress series.

UFL: I find the story of how you became published inspiring. Do you have any advice for new or aspiring writers?

Write. The more you write, the better you’ll get at it. Read a lot. Be prepared to revise your novel, because revision is part of the process. Then, once you’ve polished your novel, gotten a second – or third – constructive critical opinion on it from someone who’s not afraid to bruise your ego, revised, and polished again, start agent hunting. A good agent is invaluable when it comes to getting the right publishing contract.

UFL: Who/What are some of your favorite things to watch or read when you have the chance?

For watching TV, I like TORCHWOOD, because it’s wacky and paranormal. Since I’ve always been fascinated by the Elizabethan era, I’m enjoying the show THE TUDORS and seeing the lead-up to that time in history. I watch a lot of the History channel, too

For reading, I’m a big paranormal romance / urban fantasy fan. I do read the occasional historical, horror, or literary novel, but I love novels that are fun, sexy, dark, and supernatural, and UF/PR usually has all that in the same book :).

UFL: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance Smackdown – Vampires: (Un)Dead Trope or The Neverending Treasure Trope? Discuss.

I am SO biased when it comes to this topic, of course. I love vampire novels, so to me, they are the neverending treasure trope. Vampires are flexible in a way few other creatures are (in my opinion). You have novels where vampires are mindless evil drones, or bloodsucking super villains, or scientific mutations, or alluring sexy heroes/heroines, or a combination thereof. There are so many variations on the vampire myth that a writer really has freedom to add their own spin on things, even though it all falls under the “vampire” heading. As a reader, I never tire of a well-written vampire novel, however the vampires are showcased in it.

UFL: Can you tell us what other projects you are working on?

Right now I’m in the middle of revising book three in the Night Huntress series, and working on the outline for book four. After that, I’ll be writing an anthology story featuring a prequel on Bones, the vampire hero in my novels. After that, I’m intending to start on a completely different book unrelated to the Night Huntress series. But yes, it will still be a paranormal. I can’t seem to stop writing about what goes bump in the night :).

Thanks so much for the interview! It was fun.

Want to win signed copies of One Foot in the Grave and Halfway to the Grave? Leave a comment on this post and you will be entered into the drawing. The contest will close at midnight on Friday, May 9, 2008.

Good luck!

Thank you Jeaniene! You can find out more about Jeaniene and her books at her website:

Jeaniene Frost Website

Lisa Trevethan

51 comments on “Spotlight on Jeaniene Frost – Saturday Seven Interview & a Contest!

  1. Pingback: *headdesk* » Blog Archive » Saturday Seven Interview - Author Jeaniene Frost

  2. I loved this interview! I love watching Supernatural and Smallville, have watched some of Torchwood. I seriously can’t wait for that cover of the third book!! Yet patience is a virtue.

  3. Thanks for the interview! It’s really interesting to hear the thought processes. πŸ™‚

  4. OFITG was phenomenal! So much better than the first book and I absolutely loved the first book. πŸ™‚ Ooh, a Bones prequel! Can’t wait!

  5. Pingback: Interview and Contest! |

  6. What an awesome interview! I am loving these books. So excited about the third one! I’m glued to the computer so I can see the cover for the next book!!

  7. I am so happy to hear about another author who love Torchwood! It is filmed in my home town and I really hope to see them filming someday!

    I hope I win this contest. I am still looking at July as the release date here ;(

  8. Awesome interview! I am so excited about One Foot In The Grave and look forward to the third one!
    Please enter me for the contest!

    Thank you!
    Angela K.

  9. I really enjoyed reading, Halfway To The Grave, and Bones is now one of my favorite vamps.

  10. Thanks for a great interview. I just started reading Halfway To The Grave and it is great. I have not heard of Torchwood. I will definitely check that out!

  11. Great interview. I’m really looking forward to reading One Foot in the Grave. Nice to hear you’re a Torchwood fan, I’ve been watching it from the beginning, great show.

  12. Jeaniene, you write the best sex scenes ever!

    and Torchwood is yummy! I have a crush on Gwen and Jack…

  13. Thanks for the great interview!

    I really enjoyed reading “Halfway to the Grave.”

    I would love to win “One Foot in the Grave” and “Halfway to the Grave.”

    Can’t wait for the third book to come!

    Thanks!

  14. What a great interview! I love it when authors are so encouraging toward budding writers. Yet another series to add to my list.

  15. Nice interview. Sounds like a good series. Please enter me in the contest.
    Thanks

  16. Great interview! I always love reading about how an author comes to their version of things that go bump in the night. πŸ™‚ I’m still waiting for my copy of OFITG to arrive, but a signed copy would be AWESOME!!

  17. English? But I thought I read at Dear Author that Bones was Australian. With this conflicting information: who was lying out their arse? πŸ˜‰

    Anyway, fingers crossed I win, because UK rights for the books haven’t been sold, thus the only copies in Oz must be imports and therefore mega-pricey. Australian life, people – it can be a kick in the teeth πŸ˜‰

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  18. “English? But I thought I read at Dear Author that Bones was Australian. With this conflicting information: who was lying out their arse? ;)”

    Ha, no one was lying. Bones is English by birth, but since his rebirth as a vampire was in Australia, he considers himself as both.

  19. I absolutely love these books. I work part time at a bookstore and they are my number 1 urban fantasy suggestion. Ive had people come back after reading the first one to thank me. I am so excited to have my friends read OFitG and discuss….well…..”the scene” heehh.

  20. Oooh, I like the sound of “working on the outline for book four.” I think you’ve probably mentioned this before, but how many Bones & Cat adventures are you contracted for?

  21. I’m in NZ. We have the same problem as Aus with a severe lack of new paranormal/UF reaching our shores.

    I think Jeaniene’s covers are some of the sexiest I’ve ever seen!

  22. Enter me for the contest please.
    I am enjoying this series and am excited for your new project as well.

  23. OMG! Pick Me Pick Me Pick ME!
    I will cross my fingers and hope I win!
    Great Interview! Looking forward to OFITG!

  24. Great interview! I’ve been hearing great things about these books and the first one is on top of my TBR pile (but if I win, I have a friend who’d love my old copy!). I love me some sexy vampires!

  25. Great interview! I thought of a question while I was showering today, isn’t that the most meditative place? Of course I can’t remember it now… I am so excited about a Bones prequel! He is so fascinating… and maybe we’ll understand his sextracurricular activities better! Just keep ’em coming, and we’ll keep eating them up! (pun intended!) ;0

  26. I can’t believe I’ve missed seeing your first book. I must be studying harder than I thought.lol

    Very glad to discover them both now though. Great interview.

  27. Great interview. Vampires are my favorite. I love the way different writers protray them so differently. Heck, that’s half the fun.

  28. Loved the interview! Can’t wait to see the cover to book 3! I like all of your covers so far! OFITG, reminded me of Halloween. . .orange and then black…anyway! Please enter me in the contest!

  29. I love your books! I am happy there will be at least 4 with Bones and Cat, hopefully many more!I just finished OFITG last night and I can’t wait for more!

  30. Hi Jeaniene and Lisa,

    What a great interview. Halfway to the Grave sounds great and I have just moved it up in my tbr pile…like the book I will read as soon as I finish what I currently am reading.

    I love the covers of both of your books.

    Have a great week.

  31. You always have such fun interviews, Lisa!

    It was great hearing about your writing, Jeanine. Thanks for taking the time!

    I’m just saying hi, I don’t need to win the contest. I already have a signed copy of book one… πŸ™‚

  32. OMG…Jeaniene awesome interview.
    I cant wait for the third book…my eyes are glued to the computer for a preview of the cover!!! Keep writing these awesome stories!=]
    I hope i winnnn ha.

  33. A chance to win something and say hi to one of my new favorite authors at the same time? Right on!

  34. I have found my all-time favorite author! Jeaniene has the best, most unique outlook on the supernatural that I have ever had the pleasure of reading. I can not wait to read the second book, or for the third book to come out. She’s an inspiration to me, as a writer, to think outside the box.

  35. Whoever mentioned that the UK rights haven’t been sold yet answered a huge question for me. I still can’t get a copy anywhere and have been trying all online sites I can find who don’t have ridiculous shipping prices.

    So if anyone out there wants to take pity on us poor non Americans! please do! Send us your books πŸ˜‰

  36. This is my favorite genre to read, sounds like a great series. Enjoyed the interview today!

  37. This is a fantastic series, I have recommended it to all my friends. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Ooooh, a Bones prequel, looking forward to reading that.

  38. I LOVED Halfway to the grave! I’ve read it seven times! It was an awesome book and storyline! I have never read a book as detailed and mindcatching as that. I can’t wait to see how cat (kitten) and bones meet up and if their love spark is still as strong (or stronger) then before. I hope Cats mom gets over the hating vampires and gets to see how great Bones really is. I can’t wait to read One foot in the grave… I bet it will be awesome!!!

  39. I loved Halfway to the Grave, and I’m loving One Foot in the Grave. I can’t wait for the next installation! Keep up the great writing!!! And don’t worry about those critics who said that great first books always mean a bad second book. they had no CLUE what they were talking about. I’d say this book is AS GOOD AS the first!!!

  40. Pingback: Frost/Hallaway Interviews & True Blood News: Pam is Cast | Literary Escapism

  41. I am utterly in love with the connection between Cat and Bones! Humor, passion, wittiness, and action! MORE!!! I read these two books in just over a DAY. Started around 1 am on the first one and couldn’t stop. Seriously. I didn’t even EAT! lol I am fascinated with how these characters “came to life” and an instant fan, Jeaniene! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to read the next one.

    Your publishers need to keep their heads on straight and allow you to go wherever you want with these books! πŸ™‚ I am on your side for sure! *wink*

    We can all understand meddling mothers (not necessarily murderous fathers), but… still. As a newly-born paranormal lover, you certainly have whetted my appetite for the next one! Keep ’em coming!! πŸ™‚

  42. Great interview! I’d like to be entered in the contest, these books look amazing! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.