Yasmine Galenorn Update: Title Change

The fifth book in Yasmine Galenorn’s Sisters series (following Witchling, Changeling, Darkling and Dragon Wytch) has a new title. Previously known as Death Maiden, it shall be known here onwards as Night Huntress. Expected release date is January 2009, but this, of course, could change.

Recently one of my American pals visited Australia, and she returned to the US with information: Books are more expensive in Oz than they are in America.

Let’s put things in perspective: One Aussie dollar usually equals somewhere between 80 and 90 US cents. Sometimes lower, sometimes higher. But that’s pretty much it. Mass market paperback prices in Oz range from about $18-$25. From what I’ve heard from another associate, mass market paperback prices in the US go up to about $10.

So in Oz we’re (I’m) paying double what Americans pay for books. But why? It’s not like an Aussie dollar equals 50 American cents.

My American pal asked a bookstore manager in New South Wales (an Australian state). When I inquired about this, I was told that Australia is second to New Zealand when it comes to reading. Australians are keen to spend their dough on literature. “Not like in the USA,” the manager of the bookstore said. “Books are inexpensive in the States because…” The manager gave a reason that I’m not repeating here because it’s totally untrue of the Americans I associate with. But no doubt there are some people out there who represent the manager’s reasoning.

Readers, here’s where you come in. Tell us about where you live, estimate book prices. Do you think Australians are paying too much for books? Are Americans paying too less? What reasoning do you give for the differences in our prices? (Don’t mention importing, because it’s the same price for books published in Australia.) And what can we do to campaign for change, if necessary?

And to the authors reading this, do have your say. Am I scummy because I buy your books from eBay when I can’t find them in stores? Would it help your royalties/advances/sales ratings if I asked my local bookseller to import your books for me? Do libraries take valuable profits away from authors, because we’re borrowing books (not buying them)?

Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

Tez Miller

7 comments on “Yasmine Galenorn Update: Title Change

  1. I live in New Zealand and if you do a direct conversion on prices, we pay the equivalent of about US$20 for a mass market paperback, so yes, the price of books is a lot higher.

    I know at least part of that is the cost of air freight to get the books over here in a timely manner. (If I buy the same mass market paperback from Amazon and get them to airmail it here, they’ll charge me an extra US$10 for shipping which is generally more than the book.)

    If can be cheaper to buy some hardcovers from places like Amazon and get them shipped here, but only if the book is selling at a discounted price to offset the shipping.

    Personally, I now buy a lot more ebooks. Those I can buy at the US price and get them immediately without any shipping costs. But I really only do that with mass market. If I’m paying trade or hardcover prices I want to have an actual, paper book in my hands for my money.

    So there’s a few thoughts from one of the people who pays a fortune (comparatively speaking) for her books.

  2. We are from the US and own literally over a thousand books, acquired over the last 20 years. We were shocked when we visited NZ last year and discovered how much it cost to buy books there. We did purchase a few specialty books to bring home but found our most affordable books at fairs and flea markets. We asked one bookseller why prices were so high and he cited import costs and volume…cost the about the same to ship 1000 books as 5000, and have to spread that cost over fewer purchasers…also a lot of books come from the UK and the euro is almost 2.5 tmes higher than the kiwi. Hope that helps? We would love to live in NZ for awhile but that was one of the negatives. This American family would shrivel up and die without our books! Regards! Erika Collins

  3. OK, I’ll confess, I’m a librarian–not in a public library though. Libraries do NOT take money away from authors. In Urban Fantasy the selection in even larger,well-funded public libraries is small, small. I almost hate to discover a new author cause I might find ONE of their books in the library. For the 4-5 others I have to pony up quite a bit of money to Amazon or similar bricks-and-mortor stores AND probably haunt the used book stores. OK, OK, I confess. When I discover an author I like I immediately want to read everything similar they’ve written to see if I like it too. I’m coming to hate series since I spend way too much money getting the first & second books in the series. Sigh.

    Fortunately for authors there are many people like me. Finding a good new author’s book at the library just gives me one more person on my list of authors to “buy their latest”. For hardcover books libraries are the main market other than book clubs. Where would mystery readers be without their library? Yeah, I love JD Robb and always reserve her latest in hardback but I buy a paperback copy for my collection when it comes out and re-read it. For many authors reading a library copy just lets me know I want to add them to my personal collection.

  4. actually, it’s far better to have a book in Australian libraries than it is to have one in a British or USA library, simply because here in Oz, authors get paid for public lending rights. The government pays authors royalties for having their books in the libraries. I know authors who make more from their library rights than they do regular royalties.

  5. Ta for explaining that – I just assumed that other countries got public lending rights, too. Finally, Australia has some good fortune book-wise! (Because otherwise I’d never read so many books if it weren’t for the library.)

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  6. Wow, I’m horrified at the price difference. That would be a cost to take into account if/when we follow through on my “live in Australia” fantasy.

    I have a similar reading style as Kerry, with the added bonus that I receive 15+ ARC’s a month. That will often send me on a book splurge I justify as “research”. I can rarely find all the previous books by the author in the library, so I buy them. If we’re strapped, I’ll go to the used book store, and they are getting more paranormal/UF books. I tend to donate hardcovers and some trade paperbacks to the library (not ARCs), then stockpile paperbacks.

  7. Rachel, you’d be a welcome addition to Australia – especially welcome in Victoria, my state πŸ˜‰

    As Keri Arthur said, authors actually do get royalties from books in libraries in Australia, which doesn’t happen in the US. These kind of offsets the expensive books – buy less, borrow more.

    Thanks for stopping by, and have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

    P.S. Okay, you may not want to live in my city of Melbourne right now – although it’s autumn, today we’re expecting a top temperature of 40C (104F). My home does not have air-conditioning.

Comments are closed.