[INTERVIEW] The Saturday Seven with Author Caitlin Kittredge

caitlin-kittredge.jpgToday we are very pleased to present an interview with debut author Caitlin Kittredge. Night Life (publisher St. Martin’s Paperbacks), book 1 of the Nocturne City series, was released this week on Tuesday, March 4. Read on to find out more about the book, the writing life and her answer to Dr. Who vs. Torchwood.

UFL: Can you tell us a little about about your new book Night Life and the protagonist Luna Wilder?

Caitlin: Night Life is the first book in the Nocturne City series, and is about a series of ritualistic murders that bedevil our heroine, werewolf and homicide cop Luna Wilder. She thinks at first that a werewolf she’s falling for may be the killer, but discovers that it’s actually a conspiracy that spans thirty years and involves both demons and politicians (although the two are somewhat interchangeable.)

Luna is that woman that isn’t afraid to take charge and kick ass–and with that comes a lot of baggage. She won’t let anyone close, she has anger issues and she eats wayyyy too much junk food. But she’s also fiercely loyal, a smart cop and has a deep sense of justice. She was the only heroine who could have possibly starred in this book.

UFL: What about shapeshifters attracted you to write about them over other mythos/creatures?

Caitlin: I read a lot of mythology stuff and I love the duality of the shapeshifter legend, and the implications and themes that come with having a character with a monster under their skin. At what point does the human cease and the beast begin? It’s fascinating stuff. That, and werewolves look really cool.

UFL: What are your favorite and least favorite parts of the writing process?

Caitlin: Favorite–any part that’s going well and not causing me too much trouble. I like drafting because anything can happen and I like revising because it’s wonderful to fine-tune the words and make them really sing. Least favorite–copyedits. I tend to have seat-of-the-pants grammar when I write rough drafts, and seeing all the little red marks can be daunting. That said, my copyeditor is a lifesaver, and keeps me from embarrassing myself.

UFL: Do you have any words of wisdom for aspiring writers?

Caitlin: Write every day. Seriously. Developing discipline is the most important part of a writing career. Research your market, and don’t try to write what everyone else is writing or write what’s “hot”. Passion shines through, so write what you love.

UFL: Is it more nerve wracking to write while working full time or to write as your full time job?

Caitlin: Well, I sleep better now that I’m writing full time, that’s for sure. I averaged about 5 hours a night when I worked my “two jobs”. I miss the steady pay check and the health insurance, for sure, but having time to do nothing but write is something I wouldn’t ever trade.

UFL: British Sci Fi TV Smackdown – Dr. Who vs. Torchwood. Discuss.

Caitlin: I’m a Who girl, all the way. Torchwood is fun and all, but the Doctor is just such a great, engaging character that you can’t help rooting for him even when you know he’s wrong and about to make everything worse. Plus, two words: David Tennant. Yum!

UFL: Can you tell us what other projects you have in the works?

Caitlin: Currently, my agent is shopping an urban fantasy series set in London, which I’ve taken to calling “punk-rock demonology”. It follows the adventures of a detective inspector with the Met who has some very unusual magical gifts and an aging punk-rocker mage as they try to solve the disappearance of three children and lay a hungry ghost to rest. I also just finished a draft of a young adult novel, which is historical fantasy, set in 1881 England and Scotland and involving a coup in the Winter Court of the Fae.

Thanks for stopping by Caitlin! Look for my review of Night Life to be posted within the week.

