[REVIEW] The Outlaw Demon Wails – Kim Harrison

The Outlaw Demon Wails

Kim Harrison

Series: Rachel Morgan, Book 6

Eos Publishing (February 26, 2008)

Okay, let’s be honest here. Kim Harrison had me at Dead Witch Walking. I have loved all of her books and eagerly await each new volume with bated breath. But her sixth installment in the Rachel Morgan series The Outlaw Demon Wails, is IMHO, her best yet. Her writing just gets better and better. Her pacing and plotting are always right on target. Her characters are so well developed that they stick with you long after the book is finished.

We catch up with Rachel just before Halloween. She is in a local charm shop with her mother when all hell breaks loose, literally. Al is back and, boy, is he pissed. His unexpected reappearance sends her on a race against time looking for who is summoning the demon and stop him while keeping everyone she cares about safe. She and Ivy are searching for Kisten’s killer and Trent wants her to go on a recovery mission into the Everafter as well. Never a dull moment for Rachel.

Many plot threads are resolved and new ones created, all done with finesse. Rachel is still mourning the loss of Kisten and walking an emotional tightrope, trying to move on while not launching headlong into another relationship like she normally would. We see forward progress that is a result of soul searching and learning from her mistakes but we also see her struggle with these new ideals. Some new characters are introduced including a gargoyle named Bis and others make return appearances including a potential love interest but only time will tell with that as it was left very open ended.

Rating: A

This is very much a book of transition, transformation and revelation and I thoroughly enjoyed it from cover to cover. It is the perfect complement to A Few Demons More, which contained events that while necessary, left me feeling hollowed out. The Outlaw Demon Wails begins to move things in exciting new directions without forcing the forward movement. It is organic and perfectly paced. The wait for the next installment is going to be way too long.

14 comments on “[REVIEW] The Outlaw Demon Wails – Kim Harrison

  1. I have to admit I skimmed this review in case of spoilers since Chapigo has been holding my copy hostage.. but I see that Al is back. Wahooo! I love Al! He amuses me and I care about him, as much as you can care about a demon and all…

    I hope to have MY copy by Tuesday at the latest. Grrr.

  2. Hi Cat,

    I know how upset I was last year when I inadvertently came across a spoiler regarding Kisten before I had even read the book. I *completely* understand why you would skim first and it is a wise thing to do. That said, I don’t include spoilers in my reviews knowing how they can ruin the experience of reading a good book.

    I hope you enjoy reading it. I know I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I skimmed too! I know I don’t want to read any spoilers for this book but after reading your comment, Lisa, I went back and read it and wow, what a mistake! Before I really wanted to read it, now I REALLY can’t wait to read this book!

    Ugh! this is pure torture, if only I didn’t feel so guilty whenever I think about buying books.

    By the way, great site guys! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. While opinions are always subjective, if you liked her previous books, you will probably like this one. Moving forward from For A Few Demons more could have been handled in many different ways and I think Ms. Harrison was smart and realistic without deviating from the Rachel we know and love.

    I’d love to hear what you think after you’ve read it.

  5. relliott4,

    I checked out your blog and I so agree. I cannot live without her stuff either and drop whatever I’m doing on release day and pick up a copy, tell everybody to leave me alone and read til my eyeballs no longer function properly.

    Love, love, love it. I would love to hear what you think about it when you’re done with it as well.

    Cheers!

  6. Kim H. is the reason I started submitting my work again. I used to write category romances and editors were always telling me my heroines were too strong. I picked up DWW and didn’t move until I finished. I was stunned by how much I loved that book.

    I’ve had treadmill accidents and chronic prune fingers from picking up Harrison books in the wrong settings.

  7. Let me clarify–I wrote manuscripts targeted to category romances. And I bet those strong heroines would be welcome in the categories now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I gotta start reading that series. I mean I have the books! God, stupid me. Always spending money on books and not reading them at all! Grr! Excellent review!

  9. relliott4,

    Taking the cue from UF/Paranormal romances and how popular they have become, I bet they would. Maybe they wouldn’t have to kick demon butt ๐Ÿ˜‰ but I bet they aren’t asking for a heroine “with more simper, please”.

  10. Harry-DayDream,

    You have Ms. Harrison’s books and haven’t read them? You’re sitting on gold, my man!!

    Read them. You won’t regret your investment. I don’t mean to sound like a commercial for them or anything, but I enjoy that series immensely and always try to pass the word on good books.

    Thanks for the kind words.

  11. Rinda,
    I’m so looking forward to seeing your books on the shelves!

    Wendy & Cat,
    No fears! We are spoiler-free!

    Harry,
    You should probably book the week off now, because once you start reading KH, you won’t want to stop. ;o)

  12. Had to come back and re-read this post once I finished the book. ๐Ÿ™‚ You are indeed spoiler-free, but even knowing about the “players” in the story makes me nervous, so I am happy that I didn’t know about Trent until I started reading it and why Al was there. (I’m just anal that way heehee!) This was her best book yet, I have to agree 100% with that!

    Only problem now? I need MORE!

  13. Hi Cat – Considering that it opened at #5 on the NYT Bestseller List and the other reviews I’ve seen, we are not alone in needing more!!!

    White Witch, Black Curse will be out next Spring. I guess we will have to drown our sorrows in diving into other excellent books until next year. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments are closed.