15 Questions for Rachel Caine

bfsh_sm.jpgSFcrowsnest.com interviewed Rachel Caine last year. The interview was posted to the site 01/01/08. (Some of the information is out-dated. Such as question 3, excerpted below. Caine has since left her day job.) link

3. Describe a typical writing day.

Is there such a thing? Well, if there was, it would look like this for me:

4:30 a.m. – alarm clock goes off
4:45 a.m. – alarm clock goes off again, I scream into my pillow and get up
5:30 a.m. – somehow, I am at the coffee shop, fully showered and dressed, with no memory of having arrived. They have my caramel mocha ready.
5:30 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. – through some mysterious chain of events that has never been clear to me, words appear on the screen of my laptop and some of them make sense
8:30 a.m. – 7 p.m. – Day Job
7 p.m. – 11 p.m. – Dinner/email/family time, all at the same time usually
11 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. – collapse
4:30 a.m. – rinse and repeat

This is better on the weekends, in the sense that I get up at 4:30 but I write until around 1 p.m., then have the rest of the day to gad about doing errands, and all the other stuff that I don’t get to do during the week. Or conventions. Or signings. Or promotion. Occasionally, I nap.

