Interview a Blogger: Becky from Becky’s Barmy Book Blog

Becky Barmy Book Blog

In this new feature, I’m interviewing my favourite fellow book bloggers. 
Today I’m featuring Becky from Becky’s Barmy Book Blog. I ‘met’ Becky a few years ago. We’ve been critique partners, and I’ve been stalking her blog ever since. Becky lives in the UK and works as an assistant librarian. Her book blog tends to cover a lot of YA.
1. What made you decide to start a book blog?

I always loved books and wanted a way to keep track of everything I had read. I looked at notebooks and excel sheets but I didn’t like it. I then realized that I wanted more, not just a list of books but also a short recap of each book to remind me when I looked back.

One evening I was scouting the web and I came across some book blogs and thought they looked like a great idea. I hadn’t realized such a thing existed until then and when I found out how big it was I was amazed.
All at once the pieces fell into place, I could have a blog where I keep track of all the books I read, do little reviews to remind me what they were about etc and at the same time I could meet other bookworms and maybe make some friends and get some recommendations for other great books. And I am so glad I did.


2. What has surprised you most about book blogging? 

The response and the community. There are so many awesome people on the blogosphere, each one friendly and willing to help if you need it. People really do come together and it’s like being part of an extended family. I’m also amazed just how big it is and how many authors/publishers use the blogs too. I never expected to get so many followers or offers of reviews, it’s astonishing.


3. What’s been the most challenging?

I would have to say the time. I never realized how much work goes into maintaining a blog, it’s almost like a full time job and sometimes trying to think of fresh content is hard especially when you fall behind on reviews. But I still love it and I wouldn’t change anything. As long as I have a passion for it, it’s still fun and fresh. :D

4. What’s been your favourite moment (or book or author) so far? 

Wow, what a question! There have been some really good moments. Doing an interview with Alexander Gordon Smith was really cool (http://beckysbarmybookblog.blogspot.co.uk/2011/04/author-interview-alexander-gordon-smith.html) I met him in real life and he has been a great support to my blog and so friendly. I now have him as a friend on Facebook too. So I suppose that is one of the best things – the networking opportunities, realizing that authors are people too, and are friendly and willing to talk.


5. Which books and authors are on your wish list? 

My wish list is loooonng. I can’t wait to read ‘Dreamless’ by Josephine Angelini. I just got a copy in the post and I am desperate to get stuck in.
Also Insurgent by Veronica Roth.
Reached by Ally Condie is a massive ‘can’t wait for’, I love her series and I really want to know what happens next.
The Kingdom of the Wicked by Derek Landy is bound to be EPIC, it comes out in September and I cannot wait!!! :D

There are loads more but I will leave it there for now. What’s on yours?

Thanks very much, Becky! Keep up the great work.

