stevens restorer

[Review] THE RESTORER by Amanda Stevens

Cover Copy: Never acknowledge the dead. Never stray far from hallowed ground. Never get close to the haunted. Never, ever tempt fate.

My name is Amelia Gray. I’m a cemetery restorer who sees ghosts. In order to protect myself from the parasitic nature of the dead, I’ve always held fast to these rules past down from my father … until now.

Detective John Devlin needs my help to find a killer, but he is haunted by ghosts who shadow his every move. To warn him would be to invite them into my life. I’ve vowed to keep my distance, but the pull of his magnetism grows ever stronger even as the headstone symbols lead me closer to truth and to the gossamer veil that separates this world from the next.

My Thoughts: You need to read this book on a hot, sultry summer day. It’s set in Charleston, South Carolina and is flavoured with the American South, making it perfect for reading in a hammock or on the dock with a glass of lemonade.

Amelia restores graveyards. It’s the perfect job for someone who shouldn’t stray too far from hallowed ground. Every evening at dusk, the veil between this world and the next falls down, and the ghosts roam free. They can sense that Amelia can see them, so they’re attracted to her, but she can never show them attention or they will haunt her so much she will go crazy.

Murder victims start showing up in the cemetery Amelia is working on and she soon finds herself helping with the case. It doesn’t hurt that the detective is attractive and intriguing. But it does get complicated when she learns he is haunted and she’s attracted to him anyway.

As Amelia and Devlin uncover more clues to the murderer, including a ghostly connection, things get heated– and deadly.

I loved the mystery in this story. I did find the pacing a bit slow, though. Slow like a sultry summer afternoon. Pour me a lemonade and hand me the next in The Graveyard Queen series.

Rating: A-
Series: The Graveyard Queen series
Publisher: Mira/Harlequin, 2011
Author website: www.amandastevens.com
Acquired: personal gift

Get it at Amazon:

Get it at Chapters/Indigo:

One comment on “[Review] THE RESTORER by Amanda Stevens

  1. Pingback: The Kingdom (Graveyard Queen #2) – Amanda Stevens « Stewartry

Comments are closed.