[REVIEW] Rogue – Rachel Vincent

Rogue

series: werecats, Book 2

Rachel Vincent

Mira Books, 2008

Someone’s been killing stray werecats, and during the course of the investigation, Faythe Sanders and Marc (her lover, investigative partner, and her father’s chief enforcer) stumble onto serial kidnappings. Someone’s been taking strippers in the same towns 24-hours before strays show up dead. Who’s doing the kidnapping? Who’s doing the killing? When Faythe seems to be connected to it all, will her relationship with Marc survive?

.

.

My thoughts behind the cut.

Let’s talk Faythe.

When we first met Faythe Sanders in Stray, I thought she was a spoiled brat. Imagine having everything you ever wanted or needed, only for it to never be enough. In Stray she was given a university education, paid for by Daddy, but it wasn’t enough. She wanted independence. She wanted to shed her family and the lifestyle she was born into. I found her attitude very difficult to relate to, but probably because I have more life experience than she does, and because I’ve had to fight for everything in my life, including my education, my job, my home. All things Faythe took for granted. The ending was the best part of Stray because we finally got to see Faythe thinking of someone other than herself. She finally opened her eyes to all the good in her life and decided to fight to keep it.

To put it mildly, Faythe had a lot to live up to in Rogue.

In the opening sequence we see Faythe kicking a stray’s butt. She declares she has to do it by herself, and I immediately worried about where this story was headed. Were we going to be subjected to an entire novel of Faythe declaring her independence, proving her worth? In some ways, yes, we were, but Faythe proving herself sort of took a backseat to Faythe opening her eyes to the problems of other people in her Pride. Finally Faythe is realizing her problems aren’t so bad. And even when her problems become very, very bad, her thoughts are on how her actions have affected others. Finally, Faythe is growing up.

Marc, Faythe’s love interest, is my biggest complaint with this book. He’s several years older than Faythe, but he acts like such a child. He’s not above digs (though good-natured), racing to get there first, or temper-tantrums based on a simple misunderstanding. I expected better of Marc. I expected more maturity. Instead, when he’s angry over the Big Misunderstanding, he curses, throws furniture, name calls, and carries on like a hot-headed sixteen year old. When he carries on like this, I have trouble rooting for the relationship. In fact, I wonder why Faythe is attracted to him at all. Marc is going to have a lot to live up to in Pride.

That said, I enjoyed Rogue. Loaded with revenge-seeking bad guys, how could I not? There was also a growth in the mother-daughter relationship, and although this was expected, I was glad to see it. I just wish I’d seen more of it, instead of having it brushed over in the last few pages.

Rating: B+ I liked Rogue so much, I just pre-ordered Pride. Can’t wait to see how Faythe changes next.

Harry’s interview with Rachel Vincent

Harry’s review of Rogue

Cover art for Pride (werecats, Book 3)

Rachel Vincent’s Website

2 comments on “[REVIEW] Rogue – Rachel Vincent

  1. I wanted to like this series as I’m a catgirl, but I ended up hating it for the exact opposite reason the reviewer ended up liking it.

    I’m a college student and a feminist, I have nothing but comtept for people like Faythe and her mother(a 1950esq IT, who gave up everything for family)..what a joke, but it’s something I would expect from a southern setting.

Comments are closed.